Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Also in this area

Translate this page

For Braille, large print, paper copies of documents or audio, please contact us.

Account Login




When children join us in Reception they follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which covers the seven areas of learning as follows;

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Expressive Arts and Design

As children move from Reception into Year 1 and until they leave us at the end of Year 6 we follow the National Curriculum.  Every pupil in Key Stage One and Two follows subjects planned and implemented through the National Curriculum.  There are five core subjects; English, Mathematics, Science, Information and Communication Technology and Religious Education.  The remaining subjects are known as foundation subjects: History, Geography, Design Technology, Art, Languages (KS2), Music and P.E.  The curriculum in Key Stage One is designed and presented in such a way that it caters for individual needs and abilities.  All activities include a great deal of practical work and play is seen as an important aspect of learning in the early years.  The Key Stage Two curriculum follows the same ethos of catering for the individual and recognises that by the age of eleven children will have reached different levels of attainment.  The curriculum is broad, in that it includes all the foundation subjects, and balanced, in that appropriate weighting is given to the core subjects of Mathematics, Science and English. 


As part of the National Curriculum, pupils are required to be formally assessed at varying times in their school life. In Year 1 the children complete a Phonics Screening Check. Standard Tasks and Tests in Mathematics and English are used during the year in which they are 7 years old, i.e. Year 2.  Standard Tests of Attainment also take place during the year in which the pupils are 11 years old, i.e. Year 6, in English, Mathematics.  All results of these tests are reported to parents in written form.


The curriculum is delivered in a number of ways: some whole class teaching, some group work and some individual work.  It may be single-subject based or cross-curricular based around a particular theme.  Sometimes our work is formal and teacher directed, and on other occasions there will be practical problem solving tasks that are open ended.  The approach is adaptable and flexible, in order to meet the needs of the children. 

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?